Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Us
Site Search
News & Press: Press Release

Santa Clara County Bar Association Endorses Dennis Lempert and Matt Harris in Contested Superior Cou

Thursday, April 10, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Sara Brylowski
Share |

SAN JOSE, March 24, 2014 – The Santa Clara County Bar Association conducted a plebiscite of its members in connection with the primary election for Santa Clara County Superior Court Judicial Offices #21 and #24. Based on the results of that plebiscite, which concluded Friday, March 21, 2014, at 4:45 pm, the Santa Clara County Bar Association endorses Dennis Lempert for Judicial Office #21 and Matt Harris for Judicial Office #24.

Judicial Office #21 is being vacated due to the retirement of the Hon. Kevin McKenney. The primary election candidates are Dennis Lempert, a private criminal defense attorney, and Julianne Sylva, a deputy district attorney for Santa Clara County.

The Hon. Diane Ritchie, who is on the primary ballot for a retention election, currently holds Judicial Office #24. Two candidates are  challenging Judge Ritchie in the primary election: Matt Harris, a deputy district attorney for Santa Clara County and Annrae Angel, a private defense attorney.

The specific results of the plebiscite ballots are as follows. 

Judicial Office #  QualifiedNot QualifiedAbstain
21Dennis Lempert15836109
 Julianne Sylva15513130
24Matt Harris17218109
 Annrae Angel9532166
  Hon. Diane Ritchie7615969

Founded in 1917, the Santa Clara County Bar Association is a non-profit, non-regulatory professional organization working to provide training and support to member attorneys, improve and streamline local administration of justice, and serve the public by fostering improved public understanding of an access to the legal system.

more Calendar

Using Insurance and Indemnity to Mitigate Risks in Real Estate Transactions

120 Days to ADR

Family Law Judgment Practicum: Fine Tuning Judgment Packets for Success

Recent Recognitions
Golnesa MonazamfarBarrister of the Year 2017
Ruth Silver TaubePro Bono Award, 2016

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal